Skip to main content

Adam Walker Flute Masterclass

Watch back on Youtube

Adam Walker Masterclass 1206 x 487 1
Adam Walker Masterclass 1206 x 487 1
Date & Time
Thursday 19th May 2022
Ticket Info
Observer Tickets €5

West Wicklow Chamber Music Festival and the National Concert Hall were delighted to host a flute masterclass with Adam Walker at the NCH on 19th May 2022. Watch the Masterclass now on Youtube!

Adam Walker Flute Masterclass

19th May 2022, National Concert Hall, Dublin

Martina Rosaria O'Connell: Franck - Sonata in A mjor, 1st & 4th movements
Rachel Nolan: Prokofiev - Flute Sonata, 1st & 3rd movements
Katrina Cuddy: Reinecke - Flute Concert in D major, 1st movement
Michael Noonan: Karg-Elert - Sonata Appassionata in F-sharp minor for Flute, Op. 140

At the forefront of a new generation of wind soloists, Adam Walker was appointed principal flute of the London Symphony Orchestra in 2009 at the age of 21 and received the Outstanding Young Artist Award at MIDEM Classique in Cannes. In 2010 he won a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship Award and was shortlisted for the Royal Philharmonic Society Outstanding Young Artist Award.

Adam’s repertoire interests range from exploring Baroque repertoire through to newly commissioned works. He has given world premieres of Brett Dean’s The Siduri Dances with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales (2011), Kevin Puts’ Flute Concerto at the invitation of Marin Alsop at the Cabrillo Festival (2013) and Huw Watkins’ Flute Concerto with the London Symphony Orchestra under Daniel Harding, commissioned jointly by the LSO and BBT (2014).

As a soloist Adam regularly performs with the major UK orchestras including the BBC Philharmonic, BBC Scottish Symphony, London Symphony, Hallé, Ulster, Scottish Chamber and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales. Further afield he has performed with the Baltimore Symphony, Seattle Symphony, Grant Park Festival, Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Mexico, Seoul Philharmonic, Auckland Philharmonia, Malaysian Philharmonic, Malmö Symphony, Tampere Philharmonic, Vienna Chamber, Solistes Européens, Luxembourg and the National Symphony Orchestras.